“Chasing Ice”

325875 121116023410-ice-cameras-balog-horizontal-gallery chasingice_filmstill2_by_james_balog-extreme_ice_survey2-thumb-600x399-17070

I recently watched a Ted documentary in class. (Below)
http://ed.ted.com/lessons/james-balog-time-lapse-proof-of-extreme-ice-loss

A professional nature photographer, James Balog was greatly interested in showing the public the many Glaciers that are receding at an alarming rate. Balog acknowledges that us photographers have great impact on how the public understands and thinks about nature. “It greatly affects ourselves relationship to nature.” Specifically James himself is “fascinated by ice, the beauty of it and the way the ice can carve themselves into many shapes.”

Just today I watched this short video on Balog’s Glacier adventures. (Link below)

http://www.fastcompany.com/3004659/extreme-filmmaking-behind-chasing-ice

This video was about the documentary film “Chasing Ice”, directed by Jeff Orlowski. This documentary gets up close and personal with James Balog as he travels around the world to capture the beauty of these Glaciers as they slowly disappear. “It hits you in the heart when you see these giant landscapes that are changing and they probably will never come back, certainly not in our lifetimes.” Orlowski says.

I am extremely fascinated with National Geographic, I absolutely love learning new things and just being able to see different parts of the world through photography. It makes me feel like I am physically at these places at times. I would love to someday have the chance to travel to different places and do some amazing landscape photographs! Until then I’ll keen adventuring through Toronto 🙂

P.S Yes this is my first post so I am sort of unfamiliar with this website, I will learn more as I go along so bare with me!

-Alex

2 responses to ““Chasing Ice”

  1. This is the perfect webpage for anyone who wishes to find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject which has been written about for ages. Great stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

